To help gamers that tend to forget to turn off their workstation, we have developed a small tool that automatically shuts down a workstation.
Two notes that are important considering the use of the automated shutdown:
- The forced shutdown will close down all applications that are left open, without saving work in progress.
It is important to save your work, before disconnecting from the cloud workstation.
- The feature will, by default, turn on upon connection.
When needed, you can turn off this feature as described at the bottom of this article.
The automated shutdown tool has two different functions with the same outcome:
- Shutdown after disconnect
- Shutdown after idle time
1. Shutdown after disconnect
The first part of our feature, will trigger a shutdown when a user disconnects form the virtual machine, or stops the streaming. The disconnect can be initiated by:
- Closing your computer, or shutting down your local workstation
- Internet connection problems
- Shutting down the Receiver or Tab/Browser you were using to connect to your cloud workstation
- Disconnect your session
Note that the forced shutdown will close down all applications left open, without saving work in progress. Therefore, it is important to save your work, before disconnecting from the cloud workstation.
To avoid and minimize the risk of losing work in progress, because of an accidental disconnection (eg.: due to internet connection issues), we built in a buffer time of several minutes. You can configure this value via our tool. If a user reconnects within the configured amount of minutes after disconnection, the workstation won’t automatically shutdown and the user will be able to continue gaming. You can adjust the buffer as described at the bottom of this article.
2. Shutdown after idle time
The second part of our tool, will trigger a shutdown when your Desktop was idle for a certain time slot.
Your Desktop is considered idle when it hasn’t had mouse or keyboard input during the buffer time.
From the moment there’s no keyboard/mouse input anymore, the buffer time starts running. It’s resetted once you’ll give input again. Note that playing with a controller is not considered as keyboard/mouse input. So it’s possible that while playing a game, the idle time will expire.
When the buffer time expires, the Desktop will not shutdown immediately. A popup message is shown to remind you that your Desktop will be powered off. In this window, you can cancel the automated shutdown by clicking the “Cancel” button.
You’re not obliged to use this part of the feature, as you can bypass this by setting the Idle time to a huge amount of minutes (for example: 1440 minutes –> 24 hours).
You can find the tool in your toolbar, in the bottom right corner of your screen.
When you right click on our tool, a little menu will pop up.
The menu has three features: Disable/Enable, Status, and Configure.
With this button, you can disable and enable the Automated Shutdown feature. Note that every time the Desktop is booted, the Automated Shutdown is automatically enabled.
This shows the current status of the Automated Shutdown.
This allows you to adjust some timings. You can adjust the buffer time (interval to reconnect) and the idle time.
- Buffer time is the time (in seconds) between the disconnect and the (automated) shutdown. If you reconnect during the buffer time, the shutdown will cancel. The default value is 1200 seconds (20 minutes).
- Idle time is the time (in minutes) while there’s no input, after that time, the Desktop shuts down automatically. Before this happens, we give a popup where you can cancel the shutdown triggered by the idle time. You’re not obliged to use this part of the feature, as you can bypass this by setting the Idle time to a huge amount of minutes (for example: 1440 minutes –> 24 hours). The default value is 30 minutes.